Ennamo Edho

I’ve been listening to “Ennamo Edho” from Ko non-stop on loop for more than a week now. The more you hear, the better it gets 🙂 What’s even more awesome about this song is that the lyrics are by a CS prof from my undergrad university – Madhan Karky. He’s the son of poet Vairamuthu. Incidentally, he was also the lyricist of Endhiran, with lyrics like “கூகுல்கள் காணாத தேடல்கள் என்னோட”!

What I enjoy most about the lyrics is that he specializes them to the film. While Endhiran had lots of techno lyrics, the lyrics in Ko include photography terms, since Ko is about a photographer. My friend Karthik informed me that “குவியமில்லா”, which means “out of focus” – Coming from the word “kuviyam”, which means “focus”. It’s fun learning new words like this 🙂

Some of my favorite lyrics of his (taken from his blog here):

நீயும் நானும் எந்திரமா?

யாரோ செய்யும் மந்திரமா?

பக்கம் வந்து நிற்கும் போது

திட்டமிட்டு எட்டிப் போனேன்

சுத்திச் சுத்தி உன்னைத் தேடி

விழிகள் அலையும் அவசரம் ஏனோ?

சத்த சத்த நெரிசலில் உன் சொல்

செவிகள் அறியும் அதிசயம் ஏனோ?

A bit on Madhan Karky’s background – He finished his PhD in Australia and joined as an assistant prof at CEG CS, and I hear he is pushing for reforms in the CS Dept. It is wonderful hearing that someone young with a PhD from a foreign university comes back to CEG to teach 🙂 Kudos to him!

P.S I never used to listen to the lyrics of a song before. It used to be all about the beat and the music for me. Thanks to Pradep and Smrithi for playing “Guess the Song” incessantly and making me listen to lyrics 😛

13 thoughts on “Ennamo Edho

  1. Ha Ha. Seriously, i was initially shocked to see you write in tamil, pay attention to tamil lyrics and all. But then i realized that being in a place surrounded by non-tamils will definitely make you like tamil better. And Karky has a unique way of writing. Bringing in tamil as deep as possible. My fav lyrics however are
    “Kaadhal seiyum neram, motor vegam koodum; iravil naduvil battery thaan theerum” 😛

    1. Pinra Machi! Scientifically gilma lyrics a karata note pannitiye :P. My Fav “En Neela Pallodu Unnodu Siripen” – (Bluetooth)

  2. I enjoyed these refreshing CSish lyrics! wondered about the poet. After reading Karky’s background in this post, I realize “No wonder!”

  3. Thanks for posting the meaning for kuviyamilla. It’s been bothering me for a while, listening to the song everytime without knowing the meaning for that word.

  4. I thought it was Kuviyam illa oru kaatchipezhai. “A camera without a lens”. May be “A camera out of focus” would seem equally satisfactory. 🙂 Btw, if you haven’t studied Physics in Tamil, Kuvi and Kuzhi are beautiful words for convex and concave 🙂 🙂

    1. Ya, I think a camera without focus is the exact thing he was going – Just like a camera cannot function without focus, I am unable to function because of this girl is the idea.

      I knew Kuzhi, but not Kuvi!

So what do you think?

